This session demonstrates the inventory process. The Inventory feature is accessed from within LS2 Cataloguing.
Note 1: You can conduct an inventory at any time during the year. It is not necessary to wait until year end. The inventory process recognizes items that are already accounted for, such as items Checked Out or marked as Missing or Lost and does not expect those items to be scanned. Items with the status of Available that have not been scanned will be identified as Missing.
Note 2: Multiple people can scan items into an inventory at the same time. Once you have created an Inventory, your helpers, using separate laptops, log into Cataloguing using the Adult Volunteer login. All users at your login location can access the Inventory and can assist with scanning.
Watch the TLC video below to learn how to access and run an inventory.
Prior to doing an inventory of a large collection, practice using the Inventory feature by doing an inventory of a very small collection (such as DVDs).
1. Go to your Launch Page and log into LS2 Cataloguing. Use the same login you use for LS2 Staff (mrpm\firstname_lastname).
2. Go to the Inventory tab. Click the Create Inventory button and choose the Collection that you wish to inventory. Leave the Settings check-boxes unchecked. Click Start Inventory.
(Note: You may choose more than one collection. It is generally easier to do one collection at a time, but there may be instances where it is best to do more than one collection at the same time.)
3. Click the Review button. Note the number of items Inventoried (0 at this point), Accounted For, Remaining, and Total. The Remaining items are Available items that the program expects to be scanned. The Accounted For items are items that are either Checked Out or are marked as Lost or Missing. The Remaining items indicates how many items still need to be scanned. You can click Review at any time during the inventory process to see how many items remain to be scanned.
4. Conduct your inventory as per the instructions in the video. Put aside any items that are in the incorrect collection or have other errors (an error will pop up when you scan an item that has something incorrect in the record - usually it's an incorrect holdings code). You can fix these items later. Once they are fixed, then you can scan them for the inventory.
5. Once you have completed scanning all the items, click Review and then click the Mark Items Missing button.
6. Once you have marked the Missing items, you are finished your Inventory. Go to Reports and run the report Items with Statuses by Holdings Code. Choose the collection that you just inventoried. Choose the status of Missing. This report will list all items marked as Missing during your inventory (and any previous inventories).
7. If you find books that were marked as Missing, simply check them in using LS2 Staff. This will change the status to Available. You can run the report again after checking in any found books.